Adrienne DuBarry The Branaflax Muffin Babe


II love sweets. l’ll pretty much eat anything sweet that’s put in front of me and while this wasn’t a problem during my younger days, now that I’m on the downward slide to 50, things are changing fast and as much as it pains me to admit, It’s time for me to cut out some of the things which simply aren’t good for me, like white flour and maybe I need to consider adding some fiber to my diets.

l’ll pretty much eat anything sweet that’s put in front of me and while this wasn’t a problem during my younger days, now that I’m on the downward slide to 50, things are changing fast.

When I was young, one of my favorite sweets to eat was my grandmas blueberry muffins. I’d spend weekends with her and grandpa and be awakened nearly every morning to the most intoxicating aroma wafting up the stairs from the kitchen and tickling my little nose.

I’d began thinking alot about grandma lately after learning July 11th was National Blueberry Muffin Day (ever notice there seems to be a National Day of something just about everyday) and so I decided to take to the internet and find a healthy bran muffin recipe where I could get my sinful, yet healthy muffin fix.

That’s when I stumbled upon the benefits of something called Branaflax muffin mix, which appeared to be the Holy Grail of muffin mix for health enthusiast’s and stay-at-home moms who as we all know take their nutrition serious.

The Branaflax muffin mix recipe was developed by its current CEO, Adrienne Dubarry, who I assumed from her website picture, was a former fashion model turned domestic goddess, like Martha Stewart whose only purpose in life then was to stare back from the pages of Vogue or Harpers and make already insecure women even more so, but who now lives to make them feel like throwing themselves off a bridge because they don’t churn their own butter, or has them all convinced they’re going to hell for not carving museum worthy Jack-a-lanterns at Halloween.

Although Adrienne did seem to posess a more wholesome, non threatening, Donna Reed kind of look, one in which if I were a woman I could maybe be friends with her, and whats more, she didn’t  look like she’d beat me into unconsciousness (like Martha would) for screwing up one her recipes or worse, kill me for making a mess in her kitchen, no Adrienne was more suited to grace the covers of Good Housekeeping or Womans Day.

I decided to give Branaflax a try and ordered some online, the recipes looked rediculously easy and as it said on the website just by adding a few simple ingredients, I could customize my muffins for any taste I wanted, one mix – many possibilities.

Now I’ve never been one of those guys, you know the type who have way too much time on their hands and they’ll sit down and write a letter to some conglomerate whose product they tried once and had to tell them about it. But damn if that isn’t  just what I went and did, prompting Adrienne to call and invite me to come out and bake with her at her test kitchen in La Quinta, California.  

To say I was flabbergasted would be an understatement, but after talking with her for some time she was serious and since I had an upcoming trip to the desert anyway, I decided to take her up on the offer, find out the secret to her success, what it takes to become a muffin mogul and if she truly is as home-spun as she appears to be in that apron she’s wearing on her website

Wow! Adrienne thank you for inviting me to come out here to spend time with you in your kitchen; its such an honor to meet you and I gotta tell ya, your muffin mix made the tastiest blueberry muffins I’ve ever had, other then the ones my Grandmother made of course, but I’d be lying if I didn’t tell you a lot  of my reason for coming, was to see if you were as genuinely nice and wholesome in person as you appear to be on your website. Thank you Gary. It is an honor for me to share my kitchen with you today.  I was born in Louisiana and I guess that is what you call “southern hospitality.”  I always had fun cooking in the kitchen with my grandma when I was growing up.  She taught me a lot and of course to be kind and respectful was a big lesson.

or those readers out there like myself, who may not be familiar with flax and its health benefits, can you tell me a little bit about it?Is your flax grown in America, have you personally visited with the farmers who are growing it?  I was buying direct from a grower in N. Dakota, but the shipping was very expensive.  When I start producing higher quantities I will start buying from them again. Right now the flax I get is from Canada.  I buy it from a distributor I am taking a trip to North Dakota to meet with a company that  I used to buy from this summer.  I would love to work with them and keep it in the US.  

There’s been a mini-explosion in bakeries featuring cupcakes, is there a possibility of the same for your muffins? I sell more to the markets rather than the bakeries.  I am the only one that offers a mix with bran and flaxseed in a dry mix.  I sell the dry mix that you have to add milk, eggs, and oil, but there are bakeries that are interested in carrying my mix.  I have several different recipes on my web site.  

Have you approached any of the fast food chains to make a breakfast sandwich from your muffin mix?     No, I am not ready to approach that market yet.   

What are some of the major challenges of getting a new food product to major food distributors?   When you are just starting out there are many obstacles. It is kind of like what came first the chicken or the egg.  The markets want the distributor to carry your product and the distributor wants to make sure that the markets are going to buy.  

Is your muffin mix endorsed by AARP, the American Cancer Society, The Diabetes Association?   No, not yet.  I am working with a couple of dietitians and getting endorsements so that I can show them.

You can find Branaflax muffin mix online at www.branaflax.com or while in the desert at Lifestyles Nutrition Center 78321 Highway 111 La Quinta, CA 92253-2064 760.564.5569 or 73563 Highway 111 Palm Desert, CA 92260 760.568.6522 and at Kitchen Kitchen 74-945 Highway 111 Indian Wells, CA  92210 760.773.9464

Leave a Reply

